Conservative incumbent Marty Morantz re-elected; no recount to take place


After a tight race in the Charleswood-St. James-Assiniboia-Headingley riding, Conservative incumbent Marty Morantz has been re-elected after increasing his lead over Liberal candidate Doug Eyolfson, who conceded the race on Tuesday.

According to numbers from Elections Canada, Morantz has been re-elected as the Member of Parliament for the riding with 18,111 votes over Eyolfson’s 17,651 votes – a difference of 460.

On Tuesday, Eyolfson tweeted that a “validation of the results process has revealed we are no longer within the margin of votes that triggers an automatic recount.” Eyolfson went on to congratulate Morantz on the win.

Last week, CTV News Winnipeg reported a difference of 24 votes between the two candidates, which meant a judicial recount would take place.

According to Elections Canada, a recount must take place if the difference in votes is less than one one-thousandth of the total votes cast.

With Morantz’s re-election, all incumbent candidates in Manitoba have been re-elected.

A map of all 2021 federal election results can be found online.

– With files from CTV’s Danton Unger.

View original article here Source