Canada News

Get the latest new in Candada


Voting underway in Milton byelection

Voting is underway in Milton, with the town set to elect a new MPP in Thursday’s byelection.

Polls will close at 9 p.m. and CBC Toronto will be following the results and providing updates throughout the night. 

The riding west of Mississauga has been vacant since February, when then-PC MPP Parm Gill left his post to join the federal Conservative Party of Canada.

The candidates in Milton for the four parties with seats in the legislature are:

  • Zee Hamid for the Progressive Conservatives.

  • Kyle Hutton for the Ontario Greens.

  • Galen Naidoo Harris for the Liberals.

  • Edie Strachan for the NDP.

The byelection in Milton is being watched as a potential litmus test for Premier Doug Ford and his government as strategists told CBC Toronto this week it could indicate what challenges are ahead for the next provincial election in 2026.

The race is expected to be close between the Liberal and Conservative candidates, strategists with each party told CBC Toronto.

Milton is one of two Ontario ridings where voters are heading to the polls Thursday. Residents in Lambton-Kent-Middlesex in southwestern Ontario will also be electing a new MPP. That riding has been left vacant since September when MPP Monte McNaughton left politics.

This story will be updated as results come in.

View original article here Source